Uncategorized

Mermaid Canvas Art

This project was a little different for me. Usually I work with yarn but this time it is paper and glue. I had these two large canvases (24″ x 32″) that needed to be redone (fun fact: you can gesso over photo canvas and use it again). I’ve been debating paint, fabric and other things but couldn’t decide. I also debated whether I wanted superheroes or something more marine. Finally I decided on mermaid.

Once I knew what I wanted as a theme it was time to figure out how to make it a reality. Mermaids scales are fairly simple and I thought about paint and vinyl. A trip to the craft store and being indecisive led me to looking at paper. That was not the original plan but I found this gorgeous book if water color patterns and immediately knew that was what I wanted. I mean…just look at the paper!

paper nn
This is just some of the watercolor scrapbook paper I used for this project.

My canvases took some prep, but brand new canvases would be ready to go. What I love about this project is that it can be done for any size canvas all you need is some paper, an exacto knife and some adhesive. I opted for a spray adhesive that was low odor since I would be working on this inside due to weather. It could also be done with different paper to try and make it a dragon or something else with scales. Of course a fancy cutting machine could also help with this project, but alas…I don’t have one…yet.

supplies nn
The needed supplies, obviously not pictured is the canvas.

So while my canvases needed some coats of gesso I worked on the scales. I used a compass to make a circle and cut out a template piece. I estimated how big I wanted the scales to be based on the size if the canvas. My scales have a 3.5″ radius but if you were making a smaller canvas I would decrease the size of the scales (In fact, I did a second set of canvases that were 11″ x 14″ and made smaller scales). My first scale was card stock but I found it was too easy to accidentally trim the edges so I made one out of a sturdier cardboard. Then it was just an X-acto knife to cut the individual scales. I did this while watching some movies and waiting for my gesso to dry.

template 1 nn
My template scale on the paper.
template 2 NN.png
The template scale and the cutout scale.

As I worked on scales I started laying them out on the floor to get an idea of how many I would need. I figured about 48 per canvas but I cut some extra for coverage. Also for color choices. I wanted to be able to play with the colors as I went and not have to stop to cut more.

I then sorted my scales my color (blues, purples, greens, pinks, etc.) to make sure both canvases would have equal colors and one wouldn’t be more pink or more green than the other. If you’re only doing one no need to worry about that unless you are trying to make a certain effect.

scales 1 nn
Laying the first scales down along the very bottom edge of the canvas.

I then started putting the scales on the canvas. I sprayed the canvas as I went as well as each scale. I started from the bottom and worked my way up. The first scales were placed low, hanging off the end of the canvas so that the sides would be wrapped as well. Every other row I cut a scale in half and used it to fill the space on the ends. I did this with edges hanging off all the way up. I put the scales on randomly and tried to spread all the colors out.

scales 2 nn
See how the scales hang over the sides? This is to get the wrapped effect on the canvas.

I then let the adhesive dry before working on the sides of the canvas. After a couple of hours I flipped the canvas over and started gluing the sides. I let the sides dry as well and finally trimmed the excess paper off the back.

Once both were done it was time to hang them up and admire them. I’m happy with the outcome. I love the look of the water color paper and the effect it gives.

finished 2 nn
The finished project hanging on the walls.

What are your thoughts? Is this a win? Let me know what you think and don’t forget to like me on Facebook and Pinterest for more ideas.

Leave a comment